Maplewood star Robert Cierniakoski (9) celebrates a point during a match against Saegertown in 2008. Cierniakoski, now the head boys volleyball coach and assistant girls volleyball coach at Fort LeBoeuf, has organized an alumni boys volleyball tournament featuring 53 former and current players from eight District 10 schools. The tournament is Saturday at 10 a.m. at Fort LeBoeuf High School.

District 10 has produced several fine boys volleyball players over the years, many of which have gone on to play collegiately, some even professionally in places like Puerto Rico, Sweden and the Czech Republic.

It’s been some time, though, since local volleyball fans have seen some of those players in action. Fort LeBoeuf boys volleyball coach and former Maplewood standout Robert Cierniakoski thought it had been long enough.

After seeing the success of an alumni basketball tournament at Union City two years ago, Cierniakoski decided to contact former District 10 volleyball players in hopes they would be willing to do something similar. Fifty-three players — a few current — from eight schools jumped on board.

The alumni tournament is Saturday starting at 10 a.m. at Fort LeBoeuf High School. Cierniakoski said he is unsure if there will be an admission fee at the door, but said all proceeds, including the entry fee for teams, will benefit the Fort LeBoeuf boys volleyball team.

“I think the tournament should be quality competition because each team is comprised of high school and club standouts as well as players who went on to play at NCAA sanctioned colleges and some who participated in club programs at college,” Cierniakoski said.

The lineup includes 10 players who are currently playing or have played at the collegiate level as well as six former Meadville Tribune Players of the Year.

Here is a look at the rosters:

   Cochranton — Ryan Malliard (2005), Adam Roche (2009, St. Francis University, 2009 USA Junior Olympic Boys Volleyball national championships tournament most valuable player), Ty Sheehan (2011, Penn State Behrend), Josh Oertly (2012, 2012 Meadville Tribune Player of the Year, Penn State Behrend), Nate Roche (2013) and Ethan Oertly (2010).

    Cambridge Springs — Corey Hobson (2009), Colton Spaid (2009), Tyler Dunton (2009), Lucas Acker (2009), Kevin Cole (2009), Matt McMunigle (2009), James Tobin (2009), John Turner (2011, Thiel College) and Michael Hobson (2011, Penn State Behrend).

   Saegertown — Jason Amy (2011, 2011 Meadville Tribune Player of the Year), Clay Dawson (2011), Travis Hayes (2011), Justin Griffith (2012), Dustin Pavlik (2013, 2013 Meadville Tribune Co-Player of the Year), Shane Rigby (2013, 2013 Meadville Tribune Co-Player of the Year) and Jeff Mattocks (2013).

   Maplewood — Jake Ferguson (2006), Robert Cierniakoski (2008, 2008 Meadville Tribune Co-Player of the Year), Nick Bancroft (2009, St. Francis University, 2009 Meadville Tribune Player of the Year), Corey Hamilton (2010, Thiel College), Dean Lewis (2012), Calum Hyde (2012) and Austin Acel (2012).

   Meadville — Brian Zurney (2008), Adam Barba (2010, St. Francis University, 2010 Meadville Tribune Player of the Year), Dan Nelson (2010), Josh Dolnosich (2010), Ian Phillips (2011, Thiel College) and Taylor Willey (2011).

   Fort LeBoeuf — Cody Stone (2011), Corey Myers (2010), David Baranov (2011), Travis Pietkiewicz (2015), Andrew Hicks (2015) and Caden Gilson (2014).

   McDowell — Jonathon Strub (2001), Aaron Kopay (2009), Josh Carniewski (2009), Brenton Mineo (2009), Christian Mineo (2011) and Ben Boncella (2012).

   Conneaut Valley — Ty Mattera (2005, St. Francis University), Ben Varee (2008), Nolan Varee (2012), Greg Gessner (1987), Mills Adkins (2003) and Ty Jones (2008).


React to this story: