Election results certified

Crawford County Board of Elections Chairman John Amato and members LeRoy Stearns and Christine Krzysiak certify the official results of the Nov. 5 general election Monday in the county courthouse.

The official vote tabulation results for Crawford County in the Nov. 5 general election were certified as final by the Board of Elections on Monday.

No challenges to the results were received during the five-day public inspection period that began Nov. 21, according to Rebecca Little, county director of elections. Monday was the first business day after the inspection period required by state law. The courthouse was closed Thursday and Friday due to the Thanksgiving holiday.

“Because we had so many write-ins, it did take a little bit longer than usual — because we count each and every one,” Little said of the certification process.

The outcome of one race was changed as a result of the official tabulation process. Kurt Dennis defeated Edward D. Papsun in the race for a four-year township supervisor position in Greenwood Township.

Dennis, a write-in candidate, received 106 votes while Papsun, a Democrat and the incumbent, received 103.

Papsun was appointed supervisor in Greenwood Township following the death of Cecil Stevenson, a Greenwood Township supervisor and chairman of the board in November 2018. The four-year position up for election was to fill the remainder of Stevenson’s six-year term.

The election board normally consists of the three county commissioners, but incumbent commissioners Francis Weiderspahn Jr. and Chris Soff were seeking re-election this year and by law could not serve on the election board at the same time.

Crawford County Court of Common Pleas President Judge Anthony Vardaro appointed Christine Krzysiak and LeRoy Stearns to serve on the election board in place of Weiderspahn and Soff this year.

Commissioner John Amato, who was not seeking re-election, served as chairman of the election board.

Mike Crowley can be reached at 724-6370 or by email at mcrowley@meadvilletribune.com.

React to this story:


Recommended for you