Meadville Tribune

State News

September 25, 2013

State's dog owners reminded to get licenses

HARRISBURG — Pennsylvania’s state dog wardens remind owners to license their dogs and have them vaccinated for rabies. Wardens will be canvassing homes across the state this fall.

State law requires all dogs 3 months and older to be licensed by Jan. 1 each year. Owners who fail to license their dogs could face a fine of up to $300 for each unlicensed dog.

“A dog license is an inexpensive way to keep peace of mind if your dog gets lost,” Department of Agriculture Secretary George Greig said. “It’s your dog’s ticket home, and it’s the law.”

Dog owners can purchase a license at their local county treasurer’s office, through agents and online.

An annual dog license is $8.45 — or $6.45 if the animal is spayed or neutered. Lifetime licenses are available for dogs that have permanent identification like a microchip or tattoo. Older adults and people with disabilities may be eligible for discounts.

The dog license application is simple and only requests owner contact information and details about the dog being licensed, like name, age, breed and color.

Greig offered these reasons for dog licensing:

- It’s the law. All dogs 3 months and older must have a current license.

- If your dog gets lost, a license is the best way to get him back. A license helps animal control and shelters identify your dog and get him back home safely.

- The cost of a license is less than the penalty for being caught without one. A license costs less than two cents a day, but owners who fail to license their dogs could face a fine of up to $300 for each unlicensed dog.

- License fees support animal control. The annual fee you pay to license your dog helps keep shelters running and supports the work of the Dog Law Enforcement Office, which is responsible for ensuring the welfare of dogs, regulating dangerous dogs and overseeing annual licensing and rabies vaccinations. State dog wardens completed 4,711 kennel inspections last year and issued 3,113 summary citations and 56 misdemeanor charges related to violations of the Pennsylvania Dog Law.

Licenses for 2014 are available on Dec. 1.

- More information: Visit licenseyourdogPA.com or call (717) 787-3062.

1
Text Only
State News