Meadville Tribune

November 14, 2012

Meadville, Maplewood, Fort LeBoeuf highlight All-District 10 teams

Staff Writer
Meadville Tribune

MEADVILLE — State playoff participants Maplewood, Meadville and Fort LeBoeuf were well represented in the Pennsylvania Volleyball Coaches Association’s All-District 10 team released on Monday.

District 10 Class A champion Maplewood was rewarded with three first team picks and a third team nod. Senior libero Emily Merritt, senior middle hitter Kendra Turner and sophomore outside hitter Madalyn Nicols were named to the first team along with Cochranton’s Aubrey Hering and Sharpsville’s Kristen and Paige Scurpa.

The Tigers’ junior setter Jaricka Simmerman landed on the third team.

In Class AA, District 10 champion Fort LeBoeuf and runner-up Meadville took all but one spot on the first team. Senior outside hitters Monica Jackson and Leah Jones, from Meadville, joined Fort LeBoeuf’s Allania Banta, Maria Peluso and Abby Rose on the first team.

Conneaut’s Challen Litwiler took the other spot.

Fort LeBoeuf also took a second team and third team spot with Jolene Young and Larissa Cass, respectively. Meadville setter Kaitlyn Newman was named to the third team as well.

Cochranton, including Hering’s first team pick, earned a total of four all-District 10 nods. Madison Bernarding and Kendell Dickson made the second team, while Carli Gledhill was named to the third team.