Meadville Tribune

December 29, 2013

H.S. Wrestling: Saegertown takes 11th at Powerade

Meadville Tribune
Meadville Tribune

CANONSBURG — Out of 46 competing teams, Saegertown finished in 11th place at the Powerade Wrestling Tournament, hosted by Canon-McMillan High School on Friday and Saturday.

The Panthers finished with 91.5 points with four place-winners. Dylan Reynolds had the highest finish for the Panthers, claiming fourth place at 182 pounds. He dropped the third place match to McDowell’s Tyree Spearman by a narrow 3-2 margin.  

Other place-winners for Saegertown included Matt Humes, who was sixth at 145; Tyler Vath, who was eighth at 132; and Nick Monico, who was eighth at 138. Humes picked up his 100th career win during the tournament.

Franklin Regional won the tournament with 236.5 points, beating second-place Greater Latrobe with 207 points.

Franklin Regional had five champions, including former Saegertown wrestlers Devin Brown (106) and Spencer Lee (113). Brown was recently declared eligible by the PIAA, which overturned a ruling by District 7 that would have barred Brown from wrestling for a year due to transfering for athletic reasons.

Other champs for Franklin Regional included Tyler Smith at 132, Michael Kemerer at 138 and Josh Shields at 152.

Franklin wins Lakeview Duals

STONEBORO — Five schools took part in the Lakeview Duals on Saturday, with Franklin coming away as the team champion, posting a perfect 4-0 record for the tournament.

North East placed second with a 3-1 overall record, followed by Jamestown (2-2), Lakeview (1-3) and Girard (0-4).

For Jamestown, Faris Messai, Jake Reaugh and Mohamed Messai all finished 4-0 overall in the tournament, with Mohamed Messai earning three of those wins via forfeit.

The Sailors’ lone undefeated wrestler was senior Sam Breese, who went 4-0 with a pair of forfeits.

During Jamestown’s match with Lakeview, the Muskies knocked off the Sailors 57-21. Jamestown’s Jake Reaugh, Trey Lamont, Devin Randall, Garrett Morgan, William Shappee, Hunter Goodlin and Faris Messai all won matches by pinfall. Mohamed Messai won a 10-4 decision over Marquis Spence during the match.

Lakeview’s lone win excluding forfeits was Andrew Clayton, who knocked off Jason Shappee via a 4-3 decision.