Meadville Tribune

Opinion

February 21, 2013

Enough about gun control: Time to look at mental illness

MEADVILLE — It did not take long for the liberal politicians and media to get on the bandwagon of gun control. It is incredible that politicians would jump to the conclusion that the tragedy that occurred in Newtown, Conn., was caused by firearms instead of paying close attention to the individual and what drove him to do such horrendous act.

Was the act perpetrated by a gun enthusiast who went practice shooting, or was the act of a madman? So far, the evidence leads to the conclusion that Adam Lanza was mentally ill. This is the root of the problem: If the problem is a mental disorder, why not start doing something about the mentally ill?

Let us explore another case. Take for example Jared Lee Loughner, who shot former U.S. Rep. Gabrielle Giffords in the head, killed six and wounded 12 others in a Jan. 8, 2011, Tucson, Ariz., rampage. Was that a case of mental illness? The lawyers appointed to represent Loughner were ready to use an insanity plea until Loughner pleaded guilty to all charges.

Are there youngsters who are affected by mental illness? Liza Long addresses this point in her “I am Adam Lanza’s mother” article published in the San Francisco Chronicle on Dec. 17, 2012. She explains in detail the problem of mental illness and the agony a mother goes through knowing that her son has a problem but according to the existing laws, there is nothing she can do until the youngster does something drastic. Why? Why do we have to wait until a mentally ill person harms others before that person can be isolated and forced into treatment?

This situation goes back to 1970 when the then-young investigative reporter, Geraldo Rivera, exposed the horrors he visited at the Willowbrook State School in New York. When Rivera exposed the inhumane conditions the residents endured at these mental facilities, civil rights suits followed. Instead of improving the conditions in the facilities, the states opted to do away with many of them. Results? The mentally ill were discharged from the institutions and to this day, according to Sue Abderholden, executive director of National Alliance on Mental Illness of Minnesota, “society view on mental illness is that people belong in communities and not institutions.”

On Aug. 13, 2008, Renee Montague, co-host of NPR’s Morning Edition, addressed the problem in her article “Inside The Nation’s Largest Mental Institution,” where she stated, “Until the 1970s, the mentally ill were usually treated in public psychiatric hospitals, more commonly known as insane asylums. Then, a social movement aimed at freeing patients from big, overcrowded and often squalid state hospitals succeeded. Rather than leading to quality treatment in small, community settings, however, it often resulted in no treatment at all. As a consequence, thousands of mentally ill ended up on the streets, where they became involved in criminal activity.”

Is it a gun problem or mental illness or something else? Oren Dorel in the Dec. 18, 2012, USA Today article “In Europe, fewer mass killings due to culture not guns” claims that “The USA leads the world in gun ownership, but it’s our individualistic culture that puts us at greater risk of mass shootings compared with other countries where guns are prevalent, according to a British criminologist who has studied gun violence in different nations. Mass shooters in any nation tend to be loners with not much social support who strike out at their communities, schools and families, says Peter Squires of the University of Brighton in the United Kingdom, who has studied mass shootings in his own country, the United States and Europe.”

He also states that according to latest small arms survey conducted in 2007 by the graduate institute of international and development studies in Geneva, there are 88.8 guns per 100 people in the U.S. This probably does not include illegally owned guns.

If the idea of gun control is to prevent unwarranted deaths, does it mean that we should also look into other manmade objects? Take for example the death and injuries caused by automobiles.

According to the 2010 census data, in 2009 there were 33,808 deaths due to motor vehicle accidents. There were 9,203 due to firearms, including 6,503 due to handguns and 352 due to rifles. The report does not specifically differentiate the type of rifle such as bolt action or semiautomatic. The deaths for the same year due to knives or cutting instruments was 1,836, and this number is greater than the deaths due to rifles. Shouldn’t knives be considered assault weapons?

I hope all elected officials will finally get serious and do something about getting to the bottom of the real problem, for the number of individuals who are willing to kill innocents and then take their own lives is increasing. To me, it is shameful to exploit the passing of so many innocent lives for political gains.

Each time there is no action in finding the root of the real problem. The gun control advocates always accomplish the opposite: Instead of preventing gun ownership, people rush to buy a weapon for self-defense because they feel that the authorities cannot assure the safety or their families.

Congress let the Federal Assault Weapons Ban expire on Sept. 13, 2004. Since then, no assault weapons ban bill has reached the floor of Congress for a vote. If the elected officials feel now that a ban of assault weapons would have prevented the Sandy Hook massacre, why have they not even considered renewing the ban since 2004?

Why start all over again to condemn animated objects instead of doing something about the individuals who use them?

DeFrancesco, a Republican State Committee member, is a Guys Mills resident. He can be contacted at lsdefrank@yahoo.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Many veterans suffer PTSD, which needs to be dealt with

    Initially, I intended this article to be about PTSD “Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.” I wanted to write about the myths and misconceptions that those four words may hold. But as the days went by, the story just wouldn’t come together for me. Everything I typed seemed to miss something. There was no feeling.

    April 17, 2014

  • Journalists in combat zones ‘write with light’ while risking their lives

    I first heard the news on National Public Radio on my car radio. On April 4, the day before elections in Afghanistan, an Afghan military officer walked up to a car in a convoy and opened fire. Anja Niedringhaus, a staff photographer for The Associated Press, died instantly.

    April 16, 2014

  • There’s no war on men and boys — it’s quite the opposite

    Two weeks ago, Paul Dici submitted an column titled “It’s time to fight against the war on men and boys” (March 28). Mr. Dici would have us believe that men and boys are being “wussified” by a progressive agenda that may jeopardize our national security. Also, he makes the point that men and boys are not given the same advantages (programs) as women and girls.

    April 14, 2014

  • McCord outsourcing ‘scandal’ reminds me of Y2K fears

    With only seven weeks to go until the May primary election, the campaigns are expected to get a lot hotter and more negative.

    April 13, 2014

  • Can we trust luck when it comes to the nuclear industry?

    Let’s review the history to better understand a major concern of today.

    April 11, 2014

  • Aging — is it a disease to be cured?

    If you are already old, get ready for what comes next. If you are not old yet but on the way, it is not too early to start thinking about aging and dying, because both are part of being human.

    April 10, 2014

  • Local high school students help keep future of journalism bright

    Significant technological and economic changes have caused some to question the future of journalism, both as a viable business enterprise and as a potential career. But if the proceedings of the eighth annual Northwest Pennsylvania High School Journalism Day are any indication, journalism is alive and well, especially in Crawford County.

    April 10, 2014

  • Reps want to hang ‘English only’ sign at the Capitol

    Pennsylvania, it turns out, is one of 19 states that have failed to address the menace that is non-English. Or maybe it’s un-English? Or dis-English? There must be a word for it.

    April 8, 2014

  • The Arc: A welcoming community of support

    Let me give you some background about services that The Arc of Crawford, Warren and Forest counties provide to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. These individuals are your neighbors, loved ones and family members.

    April 7, 2014 1 Story

  • Outside the Box: Gather information and weigh your options — but always go on your guts

    Years ago, I was working in my father’s home office. I grabbed a gold Cross pen to sign a letter. Hours later, my dad wanted to know where the pen was. He was insistent. What’s the big deal, I wondered.

    April 2, 2014

Business Marquee
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Stocks