Meadville Tribune

Opinion

February 8, 2013

Violence off the field is unsettling and so is the lack of punishment

MEADVILLE — Editor’s note: Women’s Services Inc. of Crawford County — this year celebrating its 35th anniversary of caring and healing local victims of domestic violence — is offering a series of commentaries focusing on domestic and sexual violence. These essays will describe the challenges from abuse for the Crawford County community and Women’s Services Inc., and what can be done to improve the work being done here.

The National Football League season culminated last week with the pomp and circumstance of professional football known as the Super Bowl. The 2012 football season is officially over. For the next seven months, no more Sunday afternoon games to watch. No Sunday night, Monday night or Thursday night games to watch either. Like many, I was raised on a steady diet of NFL football and my Sunday afternoons will have a void that can’t be filled until September. But regardless of whether you follow football or not, the sport has been receiving a lot of attention lately. The violent nature of football has raised concerns from every corner of society. Even the president has weighed in. What is conspicuously absent from the conversation, however, is any discussion about the level of violence being committed by players off the fields of play.

While you may be familiar with the murder of Kasandra Perkins by her boyfriend, Chiefs linebacker Jovan Belcher, who later committed suicide, here are some other incidences of violence involving former and currently playing athletes who you may not have read about:

n January 2013: Bengals safety Robert Sands was arrested and charged with assault and domestic violence against his wife.

n October 2012: Jets linebacker Bryan Thomas was charged with aggravated assault after he allegedly punched his wife in the stomach.

n October 2012: Former NFL running back Larry Johnson was arrested after he allegedly choked an ex-girlfriend into unconsciousness and left her in her underwear in a hotel hallway.

n August 2012: Former Dolphins wide receiver Chad Johnson was charged with misdemeanor battery after allegedly head-butting his wife.

n November 2011: Packers linebacker Erik Walden was arrested on suspicion of assaulting his girlfriend.

n October 2010: Baylor guard LaceDarius Dunn was arrested and charged with second-degree felony of aggravated assault after he punched and broke his girlfriend’s jaw.

n March 2010: Oregon running back LaMichael James is charged with menacing, strangulation and assault after he allegedly grabbed his girlfriend by the neck and forced her to the ground.

A database of NFL player arrests since 2000 hosted by the San Diego Union-Tribune indicates that 21 of the 32 NFL teams had at least one player who had been charged with domestic or sexual violence in 2012. In 2010, Jeff Benedict, an English professor at Southern Virginia University, released a thorough examination of arrests for professional and college athletes during a sixth-month period. During those six months, there were 125 athletes arrested, including 70 college football players. Domestic violence cases accounted for nearly 20 percent of the total.

While these incidents and statistics are unsettling in their own right, what is even more unsettling is the punishment, or lack thereof, that athletes receive. Although allegations, charges and arrests of high school, college and professional athletes for violent crimes against women continue to escalate, athletes routinely escape accountability for their offenses. A Georgetown study found that when athletes are charged with crimes, their conviction rate is 38 percent. The conviction rate for the general population is 80 percent (Valen 2009).

Regardless of whether or not these charges ever see a court of law, we as a society are often quick to defend the accused athlete and assume the accuser is just after attention, fame and money. It is precisely these assumptions that prevent victims of violence from stepping forward in the first place, deters them from further pursuing a case they do report and allows athletes to circumvent culpability. When reports of sexual violence at Penn State and Syracuse became public, we expressed plenty of outrage at the violence and abuse perpetrated against boys and young men; and rightly so. Why don’t we express that same outrage over violence against girls and women? What message are girls and women being sent about the value of their lives? Why is violence against girls and women marginalized by our society?

We hear a lot about entitlements these days, particularly around programs like Social Security and Medicare. However, we hear virtually nothing about the sense of entitlement athletes hold for their own behavior. We hear nothing about “entitlement thinking” being subsidized by us, their fans. Our continued glorification and unwillingness to hold athletes accountable only enflames their feelings of exceptionalism.

People often ask those of us who work and volunteer at Women’s Services what it will take to end violence. You may think the answer is complicated and multifarious, but the truth is, the answer is quite simple: Intolerance of violence. Athletes need to be held to the same level of non-violent behavior as the rest of society. The affectionate attachment our society has for athletes cannot prevent us from holding them accountable for their actions off the field. Only our intolerance of violence will affect its extinction.

Hunter is marketing and media supervisor for Meadville-based Women’s Services Inc.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Public pensions for private lobbyists under fire

    Employees of the Pennsylvania School Board Association don’t work for any of the state’s 500 local school districts — not directly, anyway. They lobby lawmakers on behalf of those districts for things like funding.

    April 20, 2014

  • Many veterans suffer PTSD, which needs to be dealt with

    Initially, I intended this article to be about PTSD “Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.” I wanted to write about the myths and misconceptions that those four words may hold. But as the days went by, the story just wouldn’t come together for me. Everything I typed seemed to miss something. There was no feeling.

    April 17, 2014

  • Journalists in combat zones ‘write with light’ while risking their lives

    I first heard the news on National Public Radio on my car radio. On April 4, the day before elections in Afghanistan, an Afghan military officer walked up to a car in a convoy and opened fire. Anja Niedringhaus, a staff photographer for The Associated Press, died instantly.

    April 16, 2014

  • There’s no war on men and boys — it’s quite the opposite

    Two weeks ago, Paul Dici submitted an column titled “It’s time to fight against the war on men and boys” (March 28). Mr. Dici would have us believe that men and boys are being “wussified” by a progressive agenda that may jeopardize our national security. Also, he makes the point that men and boys are not given the same advantages (programs) as women and girls.

    April 14, 2014

  • McCord outsourcing ‘scandal’ reminds me of Y2K fears

    With only seven weeks to go until the May primary election, the campaigns are expected to get a lot hotter and more negative.

    April 13, 2014

  • Can we trust luck when it comes to the nuclear industry?

    Let’s review the history to better understand a major concern of today.

    April 11, 2014

  • Aging — is it a disease to be cured?

    If you are already old, get ready for what comes next. If you are not old yet but on the way, it is not too early to start thinking about aging and dying, because both are part of being human.

    April 10, 2014

  • Local high school students help keep future of journalism bright

    Significant technological and economic changes have caused some to question the future of journalism, both as a viable business enterprise and as a potential career. But if the proceedings of the eighth annual Northwest Pennsylvania High School Journalism Day are any indication, journalism is alive and well, especially in Crawford County.

    April 10, 2014

  • Reps want to hang ‘English only’ sign at the Capitol

    Pennsylvania, it turns out, is one of 19 states that have failed to address the menace that is non-English. Or maybe it’s un-English? Or dis-English? There must be a word for it.

    April 8, 2014

  • The Arc: A welcoming community of support

    Let me give you some background about services that The Arc of Crawford, Warren and Forest counties provide to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. These individuals are your neighbors, loved ones and family members.

    April 7, 2014 1 Story

Business Marquee
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Stocks