Meadville Tribune

Opinion

December 23, 2013

Which celebrities, politicians had the best and worst 2013?

What do the cast of Duck Dynasty, Jennifer Lawrence and New Jersey Governor Chris Christie have in common? According to the latest Harris Poll, they've had among the best years in 2013, while Barack Obama and Paula Deen are seen as having had the worst.


The poll, conducted by Harris Interactive and surveying 2,039 American adults online between Dec. 6 and 10, provided respondents with a pre-selected list of names. Nearly half (45%) selected the Duck Dynasty cast — which in addition to its hit television show also produced a hot-selling Christmas album — as having reason to celebrate this season. 
Other stars deemed to have had a stellar 2013 include:

    •    Jennifer Lawrence (36%)

    •    Sandra Bullock (30%)

    •    Justin Timberlake (23%)

On the other hand, revelations that Paula Deen had used racial slurs in the past — which came to light in a legal deposition in June — and the subsequent fallout involving the cancellation of her Food Network show, contributed to her selection as the celebrity having the worst year (46%), followed closely by Miley Cyrus (44%), whose twerking appearance on the MTV video music awards in August sent waves of reaction across social media. 
Political highs and lows
One politician who should be glad to see the year come to a close is President Barack Obama. Among the politicians tested, the president came in third among those politicians as having the best year, but he also placed first – by a wide margin – as having had the worst year. According to the poll:
 Christie placed first (32%) as having the best perceived year, followed by Hillary Clinton (26%) and Obama (19%). 
Rounding out the list is Senator Ted Cruz (12%), new Senator Cory Booker (7%) and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (3%).
On the negative side, the verdict was clearer as nearly half the respondents (46%) said Obama had the worst year in politics. Anthony Weiner, the former Congressman and New York City mayoral candidate caught up in a sexting scandal, received 26% of the overall vote, while Speaker of the House John Boehner came in third with 13% of the vote.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Many veterans suffer PTSD, which needs to be dealt with

    Initially, I intended this article to be about PTSD “Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.” I wanted to write about the myths and misconceptions that those four words may hold. But as the days went by, the story just wouldn’t come together for me. Everything I typed seemed to miss something. There was no feeling.

    April 17, 2014

  • Journalists in combat zones ‘write with light’ while risking their lives

    I first heard the news on National Public Radio on my car radio. On April 4, the day before elections in Afghanistan, an Afghan military officer walked up to a car in a convoy and opened fire. Anja Niedringhaus, a staff photographer for The Associated Press, died instantly.

    April 16, 2014

  • There’s no war on men and boys — it’s quite the opposite

    Two weeks ago, Paul Dici submitted an column titled “It’s time to fight against the war on men and boys” (March 28). Mr. Dici would have us believe that men and boys are being “wussified” by a progressive agenda that may jeopardize our national security. Also, he makes the point that men and boys are not given the same advantages (programs) as women and girls.

    April 14, 2014

  • McCord outsourcing ‘scandal’ reminds me of Y2K fears

    With only seven weeks to go until the May primary election, the campaigns are expected to get a lot hotter and more negative.

    April 13, 2014

  • Can we trust luck when it comes to the nuclear industry?

    Let’s review the history to better understand a major concern of today.

    April 11, 2014

  • Aging — is it a disease to be cured?

    If you are already old, get ready for what comes next. If you are not old yet but on the way, it is not too early to start thinking about aging and dying, because both are part of being human.

    April 10, 2014

  • Local high school students help keep future of journalism bright

    Significant technological and economic changes have caused some to question the future of journalism, both as a viable business enterprise and as a potential career. But if the proceedings of the eighth annual Northwest Pennsylvania High School Journalism Day are any indication, journalism is alive and well, especially in Crawford County.

    April 10, 2014

  • Reps want to hang ‘English only’ sign at the Capitol

    Pennsylvania, it turns out, is one of 19 states that have failed to address the menace that is non-English. Or maybe it’s un-English? Or dis-English? There must be a word for it.

    April 8, 2014

  • The Arc: A welcoming community of support

    Let me give you some background about services that The Arc of Crawford, Warren and Forest counties provide to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. These individuals are your neighbors, loved ones and family members.

    April 7, 2014 1 Story

  • Outside the Box: Gather information and weigh your options — but always go on your guts

    Years ago, I was working in my father’s home office. I grabbed a gold Cross pen to sign a letter. Hours later, my dad wanted to know where the pen was. He was insistent. What’s the big deal, I wondered.

    April 2, 2014

Business Marquee
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Stocks