Meadville Tribune

Local News

December 2, 2013

Crawford Central School Board ready for 2014

MEADVILLE — With four newly-elected members and one re-elected member duly sworn in during a special reorganization meeting Monday night, Crawford Central School Board is ready for 2014. The board’s next meeting is scheduled for Jan. 27 at 5:30 p.m. in the district’s Instructional Support Center, 11280 Mercer Pike, in Vernon Township. A work session is scheduled for Jan. 21 at 5:30 p.m.

As required by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, school boards all over Crawford County are conducting annual reorganization meetings during the first week in December. “Reorganization” activities include the reading of certificates of election, administration of oaths of office, election of president and vice president, appointments to represent the board on various committees and associations and the setting of a calendar of meetings for the coming year.

Board members John Amato, Melissa Burnett, Jan Feleppa and Glenn Tuttle were sworn in for their first terms along with Jeff Deardorff, who will serve his second term. All were elected to four-year terms with the exception of Tuttle, who was elected to fill the two remaining years of the term of Kevin Maziarz, who resigned.

With Tuttle casting the swing vote in a pair of 5-4 splits, incumbent Jan VanTuil defeated challenger Deardorff for presidency of the board and newcomer Jan Feleppa defeated incumbent Jon DeArment for the vice-presidency.

Carol Jones, Frank Schreck, DeArment, Tuttle and VanTuil voted for VanTuil for president; Deardorff received votes from Amato, Feleppa, Burnett and Deardorff.

Votes in favor of Feleppa for vice-president were cast by Amato, Deardorff, Burnett, Tuttle and Feleppa, while Jones, Schreck, DeArment and VanTuil supported DeArment.

Without opposition, VanTuil and Jones were re-appointed to serve as representative and alternate representative, respectively, to Pennsylvania School Boards Association.

Also without opposition, Schreck was re-appointed to serve as a delegate on the French Creek Council of Governments and Tuttle was appointed alternate delegate.

Crawford Central and Titusville Area school boards completed their official duties Monday; PENNCREST School Board meets tonight at 7 p.m. in the Saegertown Elementary School cafeteria and Conneaut School Board meets Wednesday at 7 p.m. at Conneaut Area Senior High School’s Schafer annex.

Mary Spicer can be reached at 724-6370 or by email at

Text Only
Local News
Business Marquee
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide