Meadville Tribune

January 8, 2014

Krachkowski rejoins Conneaut School Board

By Mary Spicer
Meadville Tribune

LINESVILLE — Conneaut School Board once again has a full complement of nine members.

By a 5-3 vote during its monthly meeting Wednesday night, the board appointed former board member Cheryl Krachkowski to fill the unexpired term of Lorri Drumm, whose resignation was accepted in December.

Krachkowski served on the board in 2009 and 2010 before learning that the home she had recently purchased was located just outside the boundary of the Linesville-area region she had been appointed to represent.

Krachkowski now represents Region 2, whose boundary roughly corresponds to the district’s former Conneaut Valley attendance area. Unlike other districts in Crawford County, whose members are selected at large by all district voters, voters in each of Conneaut’s three geographic regions select three members each.

In addition to Krachkowski, the school board interviewed Joseph Bleicher, Seymour (Dick) Ferris and John W. Green Jr. during a special session before the monthly meeting convened. All four had submitted letters of interest after Drumm’s resignation was announced.

Board members all expressed admiration for what they described as an outstanding group of applicants.

“All four bring certain strengths, knowledge and experience,” David Schaef said at the conclusion of the interviews.

“They all bring different experiences and passions,” Dot Luckock agreed.

Krachkowski received votes from Don Ellis, Kathy Klink, Schaef, Jody Sperry and Walter Thomas.

Ferris received votes from Luckock, John Burnham and Brian Boyd. Luckock and Burnham also represent Region 2.

Mary Spicer can be reached at 724-6370 or by email at